Non-Criminal Infractions such as speeding, driving without insurance, careless driving etc.
A Non-Criminal Traffic Infraction is a violation not punishable by jail and which usually can be disposed of by payment of a civil penalty or election to attend a defensive driving course. A court appearance is not required, except in cases where the violation involves an accident with serious bodily injury or a fatality, or a violation for leaving a child in a vehicle unattended.
Payment should be made within 30 days of the date the ticket was issued (please allow 5 days for the officer to turn the ticket over to the Clerk’s Office). Payment can be made by mail in the form of a cashier’s check/money order, in person by coming to room 110 on the first floor of the Clerk of Court’s Office, at the Clerk’s Office in the county in which the infraction occurred. Payments can also be made with credit/debit cards, or you can pay with cash at CVS Pharmacy, 7-Eleven, Family Dollar, and other participating retail locations. Click here to pay online or to print a copy of the payment slip to make a cash payment at a retail store.
All traffic violations, issued within Bay County, are processed in the Clerk of Circuit Court’s Office. Office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
If you received a payable infraction citation, you must either pay the citation in full within thirty (30) days from the date you received the citation or choose one of the following three (3) options to resolve the ticket.
To prevent the suspension of your driver’s license, compliance with one of these options must be made within thirty (30) calendar days from the date the ticket was issued.
Criminal Violations such as DUI, driving while license suspended, having an improper tag, etc.
A Criminal Traffic Offense is a violation that may subject a defendant, upon conviction, to incarceration. Criminal offenses require a court appearance and can carry penalties including fines/costs, probation, and/or incarceration (jail time). Some examples are driving under the influence, driving while license suspended/revoked, or reckless driving. Persons charged with a criminal offense will find a court date indicated at the bottom of their citation or the date can be found on their first appearance paperwork they received from the jail upon release. Example of first arraignment court dates is Monday at 1:00 p.m., Wednesday at 8:30 a.m. and Friday at 8:30 a.m. Court is usually held in the County Courtroom on the 1st floor of the Bay County Courthouse. Criminal Traffic Laws can be found in Florida Statutes Chapter 316, 320, and 322. They are defined by the Florida Rules of Court as a violation that may subject a defendant upon conviction to incarceration.