Where do I mail my traffic fine?
If your traffic citation was issued in Bay County, mail payment to:
Bill Kinsaul, Clerk of Court
P.O. Box 2269
Panama City, FL 32402
Bill Kinsaul, Clerk of Court
300 East 4th Street
Panama City, FL 32401
When must my traffic citation be paid?
Payment of a traffic citation must be received in the Clerk’s Office within thirty (30) calendar days of the citation issue date. Remember that if you are mailing your payment, it must be received by the 30th day, or it be considered delinquent and subjected to late fee and/or a suspension of your driver’s license.
May I get an extension of time beyond the 30 days to pay my citation?
Yes. Additional time to pay a traffic fine may be granted by coming to the Traffic Department of the Bay County Courthouse and paying a $25.00 processing fee.
Can I make partial payments on my traffic citation fine?
Yes. Partial payments are now accepted. You must enter into a Partial Payment Agreement with the Bay County Clerk of Courts. To initiate this process come to room 110 in the Bay County Courthouse, complete a Partial Payment Agreement Form and paying a non-refundable processing fee of $25.00. The fine must be completely paid within two payments. Partial Payments are not accepted if you chose to go to traffic school to withhold points.
If my citation was issued outside of Bay County, may I pay the fine in Bay County?
No. Citations issued in Bay County must be paid in Bay County. If your citation was issued outside of Bay County, please contact the Clerk in the county of issue.
What will happen if I fail to pay my traffic citation within 30 days?
You will be assessed a late fee and a report will be mailed to the Department of Highway Safety to suspend your driver’s license. Your driver’s license will remain suspended until payment, including the late fee, is paid. Upon payment in full of your citation, you will be issued a D6 clearance form. This clearance must be presented to any office of the Department of Highway Safety or if you are a resident of Florida and this in your only outstanding citation your driving privileges may be reinstated through the Clerk of Court’s Office.
How can I reinstate my driver’s license for failure to pay a traffic fine?
The Clerk’s Office can assist you in reinstating your license. If there are other reasons for the suspension, you will need to go to driver license office for reinstatement. A reinstatement fee is required.
How do I keep from having points assessed to my license?
You may elect to attend traffic school if you have not done so within the past 12 months and have not attended more than five times in your lifetime.
If I complete traffic school, will my insurance rates increase?
Your insurance company will make that decision. Please contact them with this question.
How do I contact a traffic school?
Florida law prohibits the Clerk or any government entity from referring individuals to a particular Traffic School; however, you can find Traffic Schools listed in the telephone directory yellow pages under the heading “Driving Instruction” or online at “Traffic School Providers“.
Can I attend traffic school anywhere?
Yes. You may attend traffic school anywhere in the State of Florida, including approved online schools.
How long will I have to complete traffic school?
Your certificate of completion of traffic school must be received in this office no later than 50 days after the date you signed for the Affidavit for Traffic School election. A certificate received after the 50th day will be considered delinquent and late fees and/or a suspension of your driver’s license may apply. It is advisable to contact and enroll in a traffic school as soon as possible to ensure the completion being filed on time.
If I went to traffic school recently for another citation, may I go again?
No. Traffic school may be elected only once within a 12-month period and no more than 5 times total in a lifetime.